All about FIFA 2018 Qualifiers

FIFA is a world-renowned and famous football tournament that is held every four years and each subsequent FIFA world cup finale is hosted by a new country. The first-ever FIFA worldcup was held in 1930 and only thirteen teams participated in that tournament. An amazing and remarkable fact about the popularity of FIFA tournament is that it’s final is the most anticipated and long-awaited final for any sports.



The total number of teams that are allowed to play in the finals of the FIFA world cup is 32. Before 1998, this number of teams was limited to 24. However, due to the increase in the popularity of the game, it was decided that this number would be increased to 32. Amongst the 32 teams that are eligible to play in the finals, 31 teams have to go through and pass the Fifa World Cup Qualifiers.As for the remaining one team, it is by convention ore decided and agreed upon that the team hosting the tournament will not appear for the qualifiers and will still eligible to participate in the finals.


Fifa World Cup Qualifiers are held during the four-year gap between each subsequent FIFA world cup tournament. For instance, the qualifiers to determine which teams will make it to the FIFA Worldcup 2018, the qualifiers began in March 2015.


There are two basic formats based on which the qualifying rounds can be played. Namely, these two recognized formats are:

  1. League Format
  2. Knockout Format


As mentioned earlier, the Fifa World Cup Qualifiers for the FIFA world cup are held during the three-year gap between each subsequent world cup final. Therefore the list of teams that would be playing for the FIFA world cup final 2018 that is to be held in Russia are:

  • Egypt
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia
  • Australia
  • IR Iran
  • Japan
  • Korea Republic
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Costa Rica
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Columbia
  • Peru
  • Uruguay


In the Fifa World Cup Qualifiers that were held to shortlist the teams that would be given a chance to play in the finals of the FIFA world cup Russia 2018, there were 6 confederations in total. The total number of teams that participated in the qualification rounds was 209 amongst which only 32 were shortlisted and they moved to the final rounds. 868 matches were played in which a shocking 2454 total goals were scored. The average of the goals that were scored in every match was 2.83. Now, these 32 qualified teams will compete in the final rounds of the world cup that are to be held in Russia from 14th July 2018 to 15th July 2018.